I’m sure you’ve come across “wheat free” and “gluten free” options in the grocery store whilst shopping. And if your anything like what me, you’ll be thinking what the hell is the difference, right? Well that is exactly what I thought when I first started shopping Gluten Free for myself. So I’m sure at some point, you’ve began wondering what the difference between them really is and what the smart option would be when choosing one of the other. Well, as a gluten free nutrition coach I think educating about the difference here is essential. So today I’m going to share with you the main points of consideration for buying one or the other. As well as touching on the perks of sticking with a gluten free diet.
Wheat is basically a type of whole grain that’s rich in protein and is broadly utilized in breads, cakes, cookies, pasta, cereal and alcoholic beverages. It has been used for thousands of years, even as early as 9,000 BCE, and was an important staple serving in many old civilizations. Under normal circumstances, it is quite satisfying to consume as is or as it’s derivative forms since it is rich in fiber. However, if you have coeliac’s disease, crohn’s disease and even any other related sensitivities, you would be better off consuming it’s alternatives, like quinoa, rice or corn based products. These alternatives can prevents potentially life threatening side effects (namely, depression, multiple sclerosis and lupus).
Gluten is a sticky, rubbery substance that is derived out of processed wheat and it is often mistaken as equivalent to the actual wheat grain. But in such an exhausted industry, gluten is something that can also be derived out of barley, rye and can also be unassumingly consumed as a third hand byproduct of many processed commercial goods. In saying this, it can be concluded that wheat free is not tantamount to gluten free and the two should not be mindlessly clumped together.
If your looking to preserve and increase your well-being, you would do well remembering the following pointers when following up gluten free vs. wheat free health:
> Stay away from any consumer food that lists MALT, MODIFIED FOOD STARCHES, DEXTRIN and HYDROLIZED VEGETABLE PROTEIN as ingredients. Though not listed as gluten free, these potentially all have hidden sources of the gluten element.
> Pay close attention to the labels of broths, soups, chocolates, flavored coffees and teas, meat imitations (including sausages and deli meats), salad dressings, gravies and other sauce condiments. Even though they may not be directly made out of the grain, they could still be non wheat or gluten free as more often than not they use gluten/wheat as a filler or binding agent.
> Avoid buying pre-packaged or non-specified pastries because they may not be completely wheat/gluten free.
Whether or not you have coeliac’s disease, you would still be advantaged by abiding to a gluten free diet simply because it basically encourages you to stick to a majority of fresh food sources that are great for and deliciously yummy. It also gets you to be more sensitive to what you are putting into your body and pro-active at making strategic diet picks.
Want to find out more about Shopping Gluten Free?
Here are some more great reads: